Green Olive, HUH?

So I’m guessing I’m somewhere around 9 weeks along. I’ve consulted my “What to Expect When Expecting” Book and it says that right now Your baby, now the size of a green olive, has grown about an inch since last week. Tiny muscles are beginning to form, so while he might not be ready to pump iron, he’s gearing up to move his arms and legs. A Green Olive? Really? Why not black or brown? Maybe I’m not enough of an olive eater to appreciate the reference. All I think about is a martini, which I can’t have right now. Here’s the picture for this week. I don’t think it looks very different but the scale tells a slightly different story. This is truly going to be a challenge in learning to accept things that are out of my control. The type A in me wants to identify a more pleasing way to get through it. Oh well.

I am lucky that I’m not struggling with any of the symptoms of the 9th week. “Chances are you’ve never felt so tired in your life and for good reason: Your body is working overtime preparing for motherhood as it develops the placenta, your baby’s lifeline. At the same time, your metabolism and hormone levels are surging, which triggers a decrease in blood sugar and blood pressure. The result of all this: pregnancy fatigue. Relief is around the corner as your energy level increases (and morning sickness decreases) over the next few weeks.”

Ok, it’s 3:30 in the afternoon and I’m pretty sure I just got hit by a Mac Truck. Maybe I need to walk outside, get some air or something. Damn, I guess I have to retract my above statement. Maybe this is the dreaded “Pregnancy Fatigue”. Who knows?! All I know is that I’m exhausted. Oh and get this, I can’t even get a massage until I’m in my second trimester! SERIOUSLY!? This is going to be a long few weeks.

On a lighter note, we are starting to see true progress in the kitchen. We have tile and almost all the grout. Walls have been mud and taped. Tomorrow should be interesting. Maybe he’ll get some cabinets put up soon.

Leave a Reply

