The New Face of Travel in the 11th week

So another week of travel and I do find it funny that I go to Orlando. If I ever wanted to just get away and not think about being pregnant for even a minute, I’m in the wrong town. S and I were just talking about traveling with a child and he was a little nervous that it is going to be so hard but as I watched the numerous families travel, I realized that the best thing you can do is keep a level head and go with the flow. That is something S is going to have to work on. I’m also paying more attention to the way they are traveling with kids, what types of strollers work best, what other “supplies” are they taking, and most importantly how are they handling the pressure changes on the plane. The first big thing I’ve noticed is to try to feed them during the ascent and descent to help promote the equalization. I’ll have to remember that. It does seem like Southwest is the most family friendly too. They were great with these kids on the plane tonight.

I do worry a little bit about how much travel will be required this time next year. I know we’re finishing our big project in October so I’m hoping that when I come back to work, I’ll be able to still support the specialty pharmacy without all the travel. I don’t think it will ever be nonexistent but a more controlled schedule would be great.

Also, it’s the 11th week and I’ve realized that the 2-3 lbs that I’ve put on isn’t from the baby but rather from the travel and lack of kitchen. I’m so frustrated with the fact that I can’t cook but I digress.

11th week – “Your baby (now about two inches long) has been pretty busy this week, growing hair follicles, fingernails, and ovaries (if she’s a girl). She has distinct human characteristics by now, with hands and feet in front of the body, ears nearly in their final shape, open nasal passages on the tip of her tiny nose, a tongue and palate in the mouth, and visible nipples. Hooray!” All I can say is I can’t wait to get out of the First Trimester so that I can get a massage. Two weeks to go!

Leave a Reply

