Never Ending Marathon

So I keep thinking this kitchen remodel is just like a marathon; you’re excited at first, then you hit the proverbial “wall” and it feels like it’s never going to end. Once it’s done though, you get a feeling like none other. I feel like I’ve hit the “wall”. We’ve gotten so much of it done yet we still don’t have a functional sink and we still need a back splash and paint. So close, yet so far. At some point in the near future, we’ll finish it and I’m still grateful we’ve done this prior to BabyMac entering our lives. I can’t even begin to imagine what that would’ve been like. Yikes!

As for the pregnancy, everything is still going well. I’m in my 12th week and am happy to be home for the majority of the week. I have more days where I do feel pregnant than a couple weeks ago and some of my pants are starting to feel a little tight. I’m still trying very hard to continue to work out as I was because that does seem to make me feel good. I’m a little frustrated that my running has slowed down so much but I’m learning to accept it and appreciate the fact that I’m still doing what I love.

I did have a good conversation with my boss today about the arrival and have started to look at what I need to do to make sure my transition to and out of maternity leave are as smooth as can be. Work has this program where they will pair you with a New Parent Coach, if you chose, to assist you with handling the situations. I’ve decided to give it a try. What could it hurt? I meet with my coach tomorrow by phone. This should be interesting.

Tomorrow I get to work from home. I have to let the carpenter in again and the air conditioner repairman. This nesting stuff is tiring.

Leave a Reply

