What a Week of Ups and Downs

What a long week!  Being in Indianapolis for three days at the beginning of the week made it seem like it was flying by but I’m exhausted.  We found out on Tuesday that I did not pass my Gestational Diabetes screening which means I have to take an additional test this Tuesday morning which is 3 hours long and involves taking blood several times.  To say I was in shock was a little bit of an understatement.  To make matters worse, they called when I was in a large conference room with many other people and to ask questions probably would’ve led to some tears which I didn’t want to do in front of my coworkers.  So I didn’t get to ask what my levels were, I didn’t get to ask about the impacts of being diagnosed with it, etc.  I was just stunned.  Oh sure, I could call back and ask once I gathered myself a little more but at that point, I just didn’t care.  I had done some reading about it and realized that there’s not much I can do but take the second test.    What to expect when expecting says: 


There’s little reason for concern if your gestational diabetes is well controlled. Your pregnancy will progress normally and your baby will suffer no ill effects. But if gestational diabetes is left untreated, your baby will receive too much blood sugar and grow too large, making delivery more difficult for you. It could also lead to potential problems for your baby after birth, such as jaundice, breathing difficulties, and low blood sugar levels. Later in life your child will be at an increased risk for type 2 diabetes and obesity (though a study found that extended breastfeeding can prevent childhood obesity). And though gestational diabetes goes away after delivery, you are also at an increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes later in life if you’ve had gestational diabetes.”


So, I’ll wait to see what the results are of Tuesday’s test and let it go for now.  I have too much to do to continue to worry about it.  This weekend is all about S’s family.  We had my nephew’s first birthday party.  He is so cute and is so much fun to be around.  How can you not love this face?  And yes, that’s a child size arm chair.  How cute!


Tomorrow is the M Family Reunion.  Hopefully the weather stays mild like today.  


S also went and picked up the second piece of furniture for Baby Mac’s room.  His furniture will be nicer than ours.  🙂  As soon as we get it all in place, I’ll take another picture but we still have one more piece to get.  


I’ve noticed I’ve been getting more tired lately.  I guess that’s common in the third trimester, or so I hear, but it’s still aggravating.  I’d like to go up to the gym for a little while tonight but I really can’t doing much.  


It’s a little hard to believe we’re in the 29th week.  However, on the trip home from Indy, I had to laugh because I was remembering at 18 weeks wishing I would feel some sign of movement.  On the way home, I couldn’t get him to stop moving.  He was using my ribs as a kick board and my bladder as a punching bag and for those of you that know me, this made it VERY hard not to stop and visit every bathroom from Indy home.  In fact, I didn’t stop once.  


What to expect has this to say about Baby Mac in the 29th week:
“How big is your baby this week? He weighs nearly three pounds now and measures about 17 inches. Though He’s getting pretty close to his birth length, she still has to chub out a bit. In fact, over the next 11 weeks, he’ll more than double — or even come close to tripling — his weight. And as he grows and the room in your womb gets tighter, you’ll be less likely to feel those big kicks and more likely to get poked by an elbow or jabbed by a knee.”


Oh great!  Can’t wait.  🙂

Leave a Reply

