A Collection of Random Thoughts…

I continue to think about how I’m going to get my prebaby body back and I started to wonder just how many calories would a new mother need.  I’ve asked my dietician but haven’t heard back yet so I’m making my own calculations.  Prior to pregnancy, working out about 5 times/week I was consuming around 1750 calories. I’ve heard that breast feeding burns an additional 500-700 calories so I’m thinking if I can stay around 2000/day, I should be able to lose a pound every 1 week and a half or so.

Why do breast pumps have to be so expensive?  The one I want, The Medela Freestyle Hands-Free Breast Pump, is $380.  Yeah, $380.  Is that ridiculous?  Here are some of it’s amazing features…

  • Small and lightweight design that’s powerful enough to use every day. Single or double pumping.
  • Rechargeable battery provides 3 hours of pumping time.
  • Exclusive 2-Phase Expression® technology to get moms more milk in less time.

I really do like the fact that it’s hands free.  I’m figuring I’ll be pumping at work a lot and as I’m sitting in the “New Moms” room, I could actually be relaxing if I’m not having to hold these up.

What should we buy first?  A new camera or a piece of art uniquely created for our little one.  I want both but obviously money doesn’t grow on trees so we are going to have to make some decisions.  Oh and I also want a new TV for the treadmill in the basement.

I’ve gotten through 3 workouts this week and certain exercises are starting to fall off my workout.  Certain shoulder and leg exercises can’t be done safely anymore.  Luckily spinning is still ok and the stair machine seems to treat me ok.  I keep looking at these routines online for pregnant ladies but they don’t seem to provide the challenge that I need.  This might be a long eight or nine weeks.  

2 responses to “A Collection of Random Thoughts…

  1. the medela breast pump is great but yeah super expensive! i was lucky to borrow one from a friend. can you do the same and just get new parts for it like i did?
    also, if you are planning on just breast feeding, you probably won't need to pump for a while. you won't have time!
    i only started pumping when Lily was 4months old and that's because we started her on solids then.
    and finally, don't stress over calories and weight. if you are eating healthy and taking care of yourself, you will lose the weight pretty fast.

  2. I have the Medela Pump in Style. It's great. Unfortunately, Parker won't take a bottle, so I end up pumping and eventually dumping.

    As for breastfeeding, I read that for a 5' 4″ woman, 2100 calories a day is good for milk production and losing 1 pound a week. I ate much more than that when I first started breastfeeding and still lost 20 pounds in the first two weeks after delivery. Now, I've been eating around 2100 calories, sometimes more. I don't seem to be losing any more weight, but I'm back into my pre-pregnancy clothes. I still have 10 pounds to go. Not a fan of loose skin. 😦

Leave a Reply

