Pregnant Woman Waddle…Fact or Fiction

Mothers, don’t hate me out there for what I’m about to say but I use to watch pregnant women waddle around like they were part of the Weeble Wobble Fisher Price Toy set wondering why they felt the need to do that.  It looks so pathetic and I wondered if it was just an attempt at gaining some sympathy from passer-bys.  The reality is though that I found myself doing it this weekend and it occurred to me you can’t stop it.  At 8 months pregnant, I found myself doing it as a way to prevent the inevitable.  You know you’re going to have to go to the bathroom within an hour and if your baby is half as active as mine seems to be, a lot sooner.  I found myself waddling to try to eliminate one source of pressure on my bladder, my own steps.  I can’t control what Baby Mac does and that’s my downfall.  He seems to take great pleasure in kicking and punching in such a way that requires me to, without warning, sit up and waddle to the bathroom.  It’s so unfair.  I don’t like the waddle anymore than any other pregnant woman but I see now it has a purpose.  I don’t plan to embrace it but eliminating it doesn’t seem to be an option either. 

Last night S and I met my good friend A and her boyfriend and dog in Soulard for a bite to eat.  While we waited I had an interesting conversation with a fellow preggo who happened to pass by.  She was 30 weeks and has been on bed rest since week 26.  (I can’t imagine!!).  Anyway, she proceed to tell me about her 2 previous pregnancies and deliveries and how she pushed for about 2 1/2 hours in the first one.  She compared to doing a marathon without training.  I’m not sure she realized just how appropriate of an analogy that is for me.  I COMPLETELY understood what she was saying and it made me realize just how important it is that I continue to workout, to whatever degree I can for as long as I can.  There are days when all I want to do is sit, maybe take a nap and while that serves a very important purpose too, the workout is going to serve me better in the long run.  S just shakes his head at me for talking to complete strangers about something as intimite as this but this is how I learn.  This is how I set my own expectations.  I listen to war stories and then make an “educated” guess as to what my own experience will be like.  Needless to say, it will all go out the windown when it all finally happens but for the moment it’s how I cope with the unknown. So tonight, I will waddle on in to the gym and take my place on the spinning bike with a renewed focus on endurance.   Thanks A for the great blanket by the way!  I love it. 

Leave a Reply

