Well Damn!

Today was a day of mixed emotions.  I was excited because we did get to see our little man but it showed that he still has an “slightly” enlarged left kidney issue that needs to be monitored.  We have to go back in 3 weeks to see if it’s changed.  What does that mean you ask?  It means his ability to urinacorrectly might be jeopardized.  If he’s born with this issue, he may have to have surgery to correct it.  Poor kid could have his kidneys and male parts go under the knife in the first 24 hours of life.  I’m a little bummed by this.  I was told it had nothing to do with what I was doing or eating or anything but you can’t help but feel a little like it’s your fault.

It was nice to see him.  By all accounts, he’s about 4 lbs 13oz.  At 33 weeks, that’s pretty spot on.  He may hit a birth weight of between 7 and 8 lbs.  

What you’re looking at below are the only two shots where we could actually make out body parts.  The first picture is of him holding on to his foot.  The second is an almost profile shot.  It looks like he’s got some little chunky cheeks and a button nose but I might just be making something out of nothing.  His head is down, buried in my right pelvic bone.  It made getting any shot of his face tough.

From Mom’s Little Running Buddy

We met a great potential child care provider.  The only issue is that she lives a little further away than I would like but I’m willing to drive the extra mile to know that he’s going someplace I’m comfortable with.  We have one more person to interview but I do feel like we’ve got a much better grasp on childcare now.  I was stressed about it for a while.
Leave a Reply

