I Will Survive

Last week I mentioned that I’m missing certain things, primarily my ankles.  The swelling has gotten progressively worse.  I’m sure it doesn’t help that I sit all day at work and squeeze into the same work shoes I did 8 months ago but I ‘m not about to buy different shoes.  Yesterday it hit an all time high in terms of pain.  I couldn’t sit or stand comfortably.  By the end of the day, I was done.  It must have triggered the emotional break down I had next.  At 8, while sitting at dinner with my coworkers (all male), it occurred to me that compression socks might be the answer to my swollen prayers.  So I sat and waited till we finished dinner and when we got back to hotel which is in the middle of no where, I took the keys and set off to hunt. 

  • First stop, 9:00 p.m., Dicks….No luck.  But I’m not panicking.  I’ve got 3 more stores to try.
  • Second stop, 9:10 p.m. Foot Locker…No luck.  Damn!  Ok, I’ve left the two best options for last.
  • Third stop, 9: 15 p.m., Walmart…I’ve googled it on my iPhone. It’s getting late, I’m getting fed up.  I take a left off the main road, I see NOTHING that resembles a Walmart.  I take another left, because google maps tells me too, and I find myself in the middle of a mobile home park with no lights, no other traffic, no nothing.  I was freaked out.  It’s now 9:20 and I decided to give up on Walmart to try my last option..
  • Target.I know where Target is if I can only get back there in time.  Did I mention they close at 9:30?  So at 9:25, I go barrelling into the parking lot in a full scale panic.  I don’t know how I’m going to sit through another day without some sign of relief.  I go running into Target, when I say running, I mean wabbling fast, I hear the dreaded message…”Attention Target Shoppers…your Target store will close in 5 minutes.  Please bring your final purchases to the front.”  OH MAN!!  Do I go straight and look in women’s undergarments or right and look in medical supplies?  I try women’s section….the have every type of sock, tight, and hosiery you could want but no “Compression” socks.  No I’m starting to cry.  Someone sees me and decides not to harass me about the store closing.  I go wobbling over to the isle where you’d find shoe inserts thinking they’d be there. NOTHING.  That’s it.  I’m done.  I’m ready to just pack it in.  I go wobbling out of Target, crying and frustrated.  The thought of another work day adds to the disappointment. 

After getting back to the hotel and crying to S for a little while, I go to bed feeling completely defeated. 

Waking up this morning, I realize I just have to try to forget about it and get to work.  I do bypass the slacks and uncomfortable dress shoes and put on my jeans and tennis shoes.  Heading down to the lobby to meet the rest of my team, they quickly assess and realize that the last thing they want to do is say anything.  So we go to work and the day is ok.  It passes quickly then it’s off to find the mysterious WalMart.  I find it in 10 minutes.  I find my coveted socks and head back to the hotel feeling like I’ve won.  Now let’s just hope these things help. 

One response to “I Will Survive

  1. what a nightmare!!! i would have cried to.
    make sure you keep your feet up above your heart as much as possible. feet op!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

