From Belly to Baby – Part 1

I’ve got a few minutes so I thought I’d lay out some details about how baby Ian came to be.  This past Sunday, S and I went to the grocery store around 7:30 p.m. and I was having contractions but not terrible.  By the time we had gotten home they were pretty painful so we started timing them.  At about 7-10 minutes apart, I didn’t think we’d be making any visits to the hospital so S unpacked the groceries and took some Tylenol pm to get rid of a headache.  We ended up deciding to call the doctor just to let him know what was going on.  The doctor recommended we go to the hospital..”just to get checked out”.

Heading to the hospital, I had myself convinced that we weren’t staying.  That they would say they..”Go home.” But we were nervous anyway.

At the hospital, they decided to keep us when they found my blood pressure to be high which could be a sign of preclampsia.  Now I’m really nervous and S is passed out on the chair in the delivery room (remember he’s taken two Tylenol pm).  They give me the epidural which I love.  I am a HUGE fan.  Getting it was nerve racking but good when it was all said and done.  The labor part was a breeze was not bad thanks to that.

At about 4:30 a.m. they broke my water and started checking for dilation.  It took till 10:00 to get to the point where I started to push.  45 minutes later, I became a mom and cried like I never knew I would.  I could not believe, and still can’t, how unbelievable of an experience it is.  He is truly a miracle and every time I look at him I think..”how could he be so perfect?”

The remainder of the hospital visit had it’s ups and downs as we’ve learned the ins and outs of breast feeding, taking care of baby boy incisions and learning his sounds.  More to come..
3 responses to “From Belly to Baby – Part 1

  1. oh my goodness!!!! Ian is here. Congratulations to you all!
    sounds like it was pretty smooth.
    enjoy every second. and i mean EVERY second. it all goes by so fast.

  2. Ohh Kate this was such a sweet post!!! WE love all three of you so much and couldn't be happier for the Mac Family!! I need to update your blog header this weekend too 😉 xxox Aunnie

  3. We had our little boy on 10.18.10 at 2:23 AM!!!! Our little guys have the same birthdays!!! Can't wait to share stories…CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

