3 Weeks Old

Baby E is 3 weeks old and had provided S and I with plenty of challenges but you know what the best thing in the world is?  That time when I’ve just finished feeding him and he’s curled up on my shoulder breathing into my neck and smelling oh so sweet.  Sometimes I just don’t go to bed so I can sit there and enjoy it.  It makes all the challenges worth it.  I never thought I would feel the way I do when I look at him.  It truly is an amazing feeling that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

Today I went to a Mommy and Me group at the hospital we delivered at.  It was a great opportunity to meet other mothers and talk about some of the things we are struggling with.  My girlfriend goes every week and told me about it.  I was so nervous to take Baby E out.  I was nervous about the car ride, about how he would behave in public and how I would be able to soothe him.  This class was the perfect way to test the waters.  The class was full of other babies who would go have their own demands and it just felt like a good place to be.  After that the mothers and babies go to lunch and Baby E and I were invited.  Challenge #2 – lunch in public.  Again, the same nerves came up but we went if for no other reason to figure out how to deal with whatever would come about.  At least I would be in the presence of other moms that are also challenged.  Baby E was a saint the entire time.  Slept mostly but woke up to eat at the end.

So today was all in all a good day that allowed me to get a little more comfortable with taking him out.

S is also getting more comfortable with him.  He’s been able to stay home with E for a little bit while I try to get back into gym mode.  I’m still only doing 20 minutes walking on the treadmill and some upper body weights but it’s something.  Hopefully it won’t take too long to lose the last 10 lbs.

S and I knew when we bought the treadmill that we’d use it quite a bit but we’ve found a new use for it. Its one of the only ways we can get Baby E to sleep.  I guess that’s my fault for working out so much when I was carrying him.

I can’t leave you without a new picture of my son (still weird to say).  He’s the new center of my life. 🙂

One response to “3 Weeks Old

  1. happy 3 weeks!!! it will all get easier. i kind of miss those days of the whole getting to “know you” and how everything will play out…

Leave a Reply

