When Will They…

invent a way for more things to be done one handed.  Lately my hands have been full of baby which has made it hard to blog about said baby but in the VERY rare instance where he is sleeping, and not on me, I try to get on and provide a little insight into my life as a mommy in a very random sort of way.

Baby E is 4 weeks old now and has survived his first trip home (that’s 2 2 hour car rides).  Maybe I should say I survived the trip.  We were able to introduce baby to many very important people in my life which I was more than proud to do.  An additional bonus, call it Karma, but once I did get Baby E down for the night at 9:00 p.m. on Sunday night,back at home, he stayed asleep for 4 hours.  Yes, you heard right…4 hours!!  Now that hasn’t happened since but I’m fortunate for the night it did happen.  I also got to meet my girlfriend’s baby who was born 2 weeks ago.

Baby E at 4 weeks is very much a momma’s boy.  It’s amazing how much he knows who I am.  I enjoy the bonding but it makes it very hard to get anything done.  I’m hoping when I go back to work in 2 weeks he will adjust to someone else watching him.

E and I have been attending a mommy and me class at the hospital.  It been great to meet other mothers and listen to them talk about their experiences.  I’ve gotten a lot of good advice and its made me more confident taking him out, even when he is screaming.  Thanks to Nit for introducing us to a great group of girls.

He also has his 1 month appointment coming up and I do have a list of questions for the doc (I’m partially recording these here so I have a record of them):

1. His right eye seems to tear up more so than the left.  I’m assuming it’s ok but it’s a little strange.  Is that ok?

2. He’s too young for sunscreen correct?  I just want to make sure I protect him the best way I can when we go to Florida.

3. How old does E need to be to enforce sleeping in his crib?  He’s still struggling with sleeping anywhere but on me or others.  He does get about 40 minutes in his crib before waking up and screaming.  I would really like for his daily naps to be about 2 hours but he never makes it that long then he’s crabby all day.

I just thought this was a cute picture.  Did I mention he loves his bathes?  He also loves lounging on his changing table.  I’m tempted to buy a second one to put in his crib.

On a side note, I’m 7 lbs away from my pre-baby weight and very happy to be back in most of my regular clothes.  Once I can start doing ab exercises and am able to lose the belly I should be back in everything.  S has also become more confident with E which means I’m able to get to the gym a few times.  I haven’t been able to do much but getting there and focusing on something else other than baby is still refreshing.  I’m up to 30 minutes on the treadmill-walking/running.  It feels good to do burn some calories.  I’m hoping to get the green light on running full out at my 6 week appointment in December.  I’m SOOO looking forward to getting back into a more disciplined routine.

2 responses to “When Will They…

  1. do you have a boppy? it was super helpful to me when i would breast feed Lily. at least i had 1 free hand!

    also, yes, he is too young for sunscreen right now (although i'm not a doc). most docs say 6 months. although, i put baby banana boat on Lily at 4 months.

    as far as sleeping in his own crib, the sooner the better.
    Lily would fall asleep on me but then i would put her in her bassinet(until she was 2 months) and then her crib.

    you are looking great! take it easy and enjoy every second. it all flies!!!!

  2. Hey there Mama!
    Little man is adorable! I am running in Randleman, NC (about 2 hours from home). I'm really excited to run it but I'm scared to death. This is the longest race I've ever ran but unless I break a limb I'm tackling it. Mostly because people are counting on me.
    Teagan was in her crib from day one. She never slept with us or in our room and we've been thankful for that. We did swaddle and I think that helped A LOT. I also second “Lil Muse Lily” when it comes to the boppy. I used it for breastfeeding and for nap times for Teagan. It makes a pretty good pillow for Mommy's on long road trips too!
    Good job on losing the baby weight!!

Leave a Reply

