It’s On…Are You Up For The Challenge?

Baby E is now 7 weeks old.  I’ve been given my medical release to return to my normal activity so it’s time to kick it back into high gear which is going to be a little harder to do now that I’m getting less sleep but without exercise, it’s only going to get worse.  So I need goals.  I need a new workout plan.  I need motivation.  I’ve got a couple races that I’m hoping to do this summer including one 1/2 marathon (early April) and one triathlon (in May).  Hopefully I’ll be able to do more than just one tri but I understand that I need to be realistic. 

So for the moment let’s focus on the workout component.  Yes getting to the gym is hard.  Baby E is still too young to take to the gym nursery, which is fine with me since I really don’t want him catching anything before he goes on a plane later this month.  But because of that, S and I are really having to negotiate who goes to the gym when.  When it’s my turn, I find that I’m rushing to get home and skimping on the workout.  So here’s what I’m going to propose to myself…circuit training.  Short, fast and to the point.  But in order to make this work I need stay completely focused during the course of the workout.  I’m not sure if you’re like me but it’s easy to get on the treadmill or in the weight room and zone off, not really paying attention to what your body is doing.  From now on that’s unacceptable.  There’s no time to “zone off”.  Every second counts.  Every second I zone off is a second I am not gaining anything physically and cheating myself and losing my valuable time with Baby E. 

The circuit will include compound exercises working both upper and lower body in a way that adds to the burn and will always be preempted and preceded by 15 minutes of optimized heart rate monitored cardio.  My goal is to do this circuit twice a week.  What to do the other days?  Well, spinning is still Mondays.  Wednesdays and the weekends will be dedicated to running and swimming (hopefully). 

So?  How does that sound?  It’s not about the weight loss anymore it’s about fitness and preparing for upcoming race season (which I understand is a long way away).  The weight will come off in time but the fitness won’t come back unless I really try.  If you’re trying to get back into your routine, consider this a challenge.  If I can do it, you can too.  Pick your goal and achieve it.  Report back in on what that goal is and how you’re doing.  Every personal trainer (me included) will tell you that writing it down will make the goal and challenge more real. 

Here’s the cursory picture of Baby E right after eating.  Typical male, he eats then needs a nap.  If he could he would’ve unbuttoned his pants.  🙂

One response to “It’s On…Are You Up For The Challenge?

  1. i'm going to try to start stretching on my balance ball every night like i used to. it's the only thing that really releases the tension on my muscles and gives me definition soon after i start.

Leave a Reply

