That One Hurt!

When you’re caring for a baby, there are certain tasks that are at the top of the list. Some of those include making sure they are clean, fed and happy. I was aware of the potential that Baby E was teething but I. for whatever reason, felt that he was still light years away from actually getting a tooth until it happened. I was nursing him one night late when he chomped down. What I felt caused tears to swell up in my eyes. I couldn’t believe it. Did I mention it was 3:00 in the morning? I was pretty much asleep when it happened. I felt like a cartoon character that just got his toe smashed with a mallet. My eyes bugged out and I think I started to sweat.

I stuck my finger in and ran it along the bottom gum line and sure enough, this jagged little line was protruding from his gums. I couldn’t believe it. I didn’t know whether to be happy or sad. Now I have to worry about teeth. It really does add an additional layer of complexity to my ability to satisfy his needs.

It explains his somewhat crabby like behaviour but he didn’t have many of the other “signs” I was looking for (i.e. runny nose, swollen gums, etc).  Yes, he drooled but he’s been drooling for a long time.  I gave him some Orajel last night before bed and it did seem to help him a little.  He only woke up once.

I guess I better start thinking about brushing his teeth huh?  Just when I get adjusted, he changes.  I was warned, I know but it just didn’t register until now. 

Argh!

One response to “That One Hurt!

  1. oh yes, the teeth… you took me back.
    if he does it again, i suggest lightly pinching his nose and telling him “no biting”.
    it worked with Lily.

    http://lilmuselily.com/?s=jaws

Leave a Reply

