Planning for Tri’ing

The January before I got pregnant I had put together a triathlon schedule that was going to break me in so many ways (ie physically and bank account).  Don’t believe me, check out my mad excel skills.  I had it color coded by what I’d already registered for, what I needed to register for, I had my races categorized just like you’re supposed to and my training plan was built around it.  It was a thing of beauty, all guiding me every so pragmatically towards my first year of competing in Olympic distance Tri.

I know what you’re thinking…”I need to get a hold of that excel so I can plan my races that way.”  If you want it, leave me a comment and I’ll email it to you…FOR FREE!

Anyway, back to real purpose for my post.  Goals…any new mother will tell you it’s difficult trying to adjust to life with a new baby.  I don’t think I’ve stopped feeling that.  Everyday is a challenge.  A challenge to get everything done, to spend time with E, to a workout in, make dinner and do everything else so planning my race season has been the last thing I’ve spent much mental time thinking about..until now.

The goal I had in my mind before Baby E was born was to run a half within the first 6 months of giving birth.  I reached that by 1 week and  1 day.  The second I crossed the finish line, a little bit of confidence was restored.  I remembered what I’m capable of and that anything’s possible, so then I got to thinking…what’s next.  
So I’ve pulled out the old excel and am starting to track to new goals.  If I don’t do anything else this year, I’d like to state for the record that I’m planning on doing 2 triathlons this year.  Which one’s?  I don’t know yet but overall, I’m looking to do 2 Halfs (one at the beginning and one at the end of the season) and 2 tris in the middle.  I think it’s possible if I can just get in the pool.
Now it’s time to start putting the training plan together.  I don’t have a coach, I use books, I love the Triathlete Training Bible.  It gives me so many ideas on how to plan for and train for a triathlete of any distance.  
How do you plan your season?  How do you plan your training?  Any advice for getting pool time in with a baby?  That seems to be the one sticking point.  My gym doesn’t have a pool.  I guess I could get a second membership somewhere that has one.  
I’m excited to get back into a routine.  Success is evident.  
2 responses to “Planning for Tri’ing

  1. i'm totally jealous. i was two weeks away from doing my first olympic distance tri when i found out i was 5 weeks pregnant. my doctor ordered me to stop training vigorously right away & to not do the event. i haven't done a race since & am so scared to get back into it!! you motivate me 🙂

  2. This post gives me so much hope. I am currently expecting and when I found out, I really thought I would have to curtail all of my running and my goals for a tri were out the window. I love that you reached your 6 month post-baby half marathon goal in 1 week and 1 day. THAT ROCKS! I hope to be right up there with you and then doing a full within three months post-baby! *fingerscrossed* 🙂

Leave a Reply

