Do Something

I’ve recently been connecting on Twitter with (@momslrb) other moms who are as motivated as I am about fitness.  Around the beginning of May we challenged ourselves to do something, anything everyday in May.  I took up the challenge and committed to running at least 2 miles everyday.  Here we are May 11th and I’ve run a total of 24 1/2 miles since May 1.

There have been days where I didn’t want to do anything, like yesterday, but the commitement to the group is motivating.

Today E and I went out for what was going to be just a quick 2 mile run.  An out and back on a local trail that we know very well.  E’s been running it for a while, even before he was born.  After the 10 minutes out, I found myself running an extra 10 before turning around.  Sometimes running is so much more than a run.  Today it was a brainstorming session and an opportunity to get myself in check.

In the 40 minutes that we ran, I made my mental list of things I need to do this week, recalled what I had accomplished this week and thought about how to address some challenges at work and enjoyed the scenery (the trail runs along side the clydesdale stables).  Beautiful horses and green landscape.

I can’t tell you how much I look forward to getting outside with E and running.  When I was pregnant I use to hope that this is what it would be like.  That E would enjoy running as much as I do and now at the very least, he loves to be pushed.  He truly is Moms Little Running Buddy.

Love it!

One response to “Do Something

  1. good for you Katie! i would like to start my long walks on the beach again too but let's just say i'm not as motivated as you.

Leave a Reply

