Stop Trying to Finding the Balance and Just Live

I don’t know about you but my weekend was full.  From the time I got off work on Friday night till just now as I climbed into bed.  I always feel like I’m in over drive and therefore E has to follow suite and I’m starting to wonder if it’s unfair to him.  I’ve been trying to read a few books (in the little free time I have) and both have me thinking.  When will it stop?

The first..”Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child“, a book that came highly recommended from some knowledgeable mothers, is making me realize that my desire for an active lifestyle might be happening at E’s expense.  This book does a good job at explaining his sleep-wake cycle and I’m able to read it just like the book.  Problem is that I’m not good at acting on it.  I see the signs, he’s tired but the gyms child care is only available smack dab on his nap time.  Tonight I’m feeling extremely guilty and am trying to figure out what to do.  Which brings me to my other book..

Balance is a Crock, Sleep is for the Weak”  Just the title alone makes me think probably even more so than the content of the book.  The content is a little quirky but the for me, there’s an underlying message.  As moms, we’re always try to achieve the unattainable “balance” and I don’t know about you but I that I beat myself up when I let something slip because I’m still living under this false expectation that I can be everything to everyone when really what I should be is:
1. A mom to a beautiful baby boy,
2. A wife to a husband that works hard and
3. A family member and then EVERYTHING ELSE.

It’s tough.  It is, I won’t be the first to tell you.  But I’m going to have to start just living, and quite reaching for something that can’t be reached.  Everyday, I’m going to wake up, assess the demands and decide what gets done and what doesn’t and try as I might to stick to it.

Something has got to give and it’s my job to decide what that is.  It’s my job to decide for me, for E and my family and to date, I’ve been selfish in trying to achieve “balance”.  My mantra from now on…”Just Live”.

What do you think?

2 responses to “Stop Trying to Finding the Balance and Just Live

  1. i always just “live” sure we try to have Lily on a schedule because for us it does work best but sometimes we go off that schedule and the world does not end.
    his napping schedules will change as he grows.
    go with what feels right to you “guilt free”. 🙂

  2. ahhh I can relate all too well! My first baby was completely, 100% unscheduled on his own accord, and because I had no idea what I was doing. We were certainly flying by the seat of our pants. Baby #2 scheduled himself. To this day (he's 2.5) it shocks me that he asks to go down for his nap and to bed at the same time every single day. So if I've learned anything from motherhood, it's go with the flow. Like you said, “Just live”. And enjoy every minute of it! 🙂

    p.s thank you for your comment on my recent post, I'd LOVE to have you do a guest post about fitness competitions, shoot me an email at heathergannoe (at) hotmail.com (I couldn't find a contact for you on here!)

Leave a Reply

